No one warned me about waxing in Japan

1 Dec

Things are finally looking up for Japan. I have to admit I had a bad case of culture shock that probably went on for a few weeks. It is possible during that time that I may have warned everyone never to come to Japan but I promise it’s not an awful place. It does take some getting used to. I’ll recap a few things that have happened over the past few weeks.

Waxing in Japan

Over the past few weeks I had been searching for a wax salon here in Tokyo. My first choice was in Shibuya but had no available appointments and cost $63 and the other salon never returned my calls. I ended up settling for the Waxing Bee salon in Ginza. I decided to get a brazilian while I was there which I shouldn’t have done. The salon lady was meticulous. She waxed my eyebrows maybe 5 times each and did not have to use a tweezer or razor. It was less painful and I’m sure it will last longer. The brazilian. Oh the brazilian (hair waxed from front to back). When she asked  should she remove all the hair I of course answered yes (no landing strip for me lol). Wrong answer. She waxed with strips and then tweezed every single hair she missed EVERYWHERE (butt too!). Talk about a near death experience! In atlanta I got to Andreia’s and they pour warm wax and then rip the wax off. It is done in 5 batches compared to the 20 I experiences at the salon here. It also takes about half the time but let’s just say I learned my lesson. Long live the hair!!

I met a few new friends outside of campus from Jamaica and the Caribbean and I have to say my life is improving because of it. No more staying in the house watching reruns of SVU. I’ve been lucky enough to be invited to a birthday party, spoken word, Jamaican style party with a group known as Cornbread and various dinners and so on. It has been great and I was shocked to find out there are so many Blacks living in Japan doing big things!1460197_10153486099275526_1050541796_n1398523_10151816951247602_1415659373_ocheck out Dave’s blog about being Jamaican living in Japan at http://davecollyjap.blogspot.com/

3 Responses to “No one warned me about waxing in Japan”

  1. Dave December 1, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    You just need to meet the right people here that’s all.

    We are going to Jamaicanize you 😀

  2. sayheymaria December 9, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

    I am so worried about waxing in Japan! None of the schools I’m looking at are in Tokyo and I’ve been informed by a reliable source that, outside of Tokyo, waxing salons aren’t as common. I’m no where near as hardcore as you though… No Brazilians for me!! I’m just an eyebrow and lip girl but I need it done like… every 2-3 weeks! I might just have to invest in tons of waxing strips and learn how to pluck my eyebrows.

    Oh the hardships of women with extra-hair!

    Glad things are going better for you there!!

    • jbrieo December 17, 2013 at 6:02 pm #

      Unfortunately they definitely aren’t too common as most people seem to get laser hair removal. The waxing bee near Ginza station is great for everything else but Brazilians lol

Leave a Reply

