Life in Japan 6 week check in

12 Oct

Life has been very hectic here in Japan. I think I have already went through the 2 phases of culture shock (honeymoom phase and the debbie downer phase) so now I’ve reached the acceptance phase. This means that I accept Japan for what it has and doesn’t have. I recognize that I will never find Welch’s fruit snacks, colby jack cheese, pepperoni or lawry salt seasoning. I’ve come to an understanding that carbs will make up 80% of my daily diet and that having 9 classes is normal here.

I’ve been filling up my days to stay busy. Trying not to thing about him (not so happy breakup before I left to Japan). I’ve been quite successful I must say. Gymnastics 3x a week and badminton 2x a week and maybe a boxing class here or there. Nothing beats throwing yourself into fitness regardless of the underlying reasons. Plus I have homework in 5-6 of my classes usually. I learn about 25 kanji a week and that is very stressful. Weekends I shop in Shibuya, sing karaoke for hours on end or go out to eat. All in all that equals a large chunk of money but it offers me piece of mind if that makes any sense. 

I’ve attached a few pics of my new cell phone, boxing class and from the welcome party at Tsuda. I have no idea why one of my friends covered herself with that thing lolImageImageImage

8 Responses to “Life in Japan 6 week check in”

  1. bre bre October 14, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

    Love it!!

  2. sayheymaria October 15, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

    Whoa! That cellphone is beautiful! How much did it cost/what is the plan???

    Your boxing club looks awesome and overall it sounds like an experience! I’m not just a little jealous…more like a lot!

    How much do you think your Japanese has improved so far? Thats the one thing I’m sort of nervous about (beeesides the initial culture shock and public transportation–I have a habit of getting lost). I suppose the better question is how comfortable are you interacting with it so far?

    • jbrieo October 15, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

      Hey! This cell phone was about $200 but I pay for it little by little each month with no interest so it’s not too expensive. No one text here and calls are really expensive so it’s all about having internet on the phone to email or use the app called Line (like groupme).

      My Japanese has improved a lot especially my listening skills. I was nervous when I got here and couldn’t understand anything. Now I’m able to have conversations with people and even speak some. I get nervous and say the wrong thing a lot but people here are really friendly/polite and I usually have to beg them to correct me.

      Make sure you join clubs when you come to Japan. It is intense and a great way to make Japanese friends. Most clubs practice 5-15 hours a week so it’s best to join one. I manage boxing and gymnastics but my class load isn’t too hard. They even have competitions and stuff so it’s like being a part of a real sports team. This week I meet a sumo wrestler and next month I compete against 3 other schools for gymnastics. There’s something for everyone!

      • sayheymaria October 15, 2013 at 4:19 pm #

        Wow, thats so odd that they don’t text!!

        I’ve been studying Japanese for a few months now and am in a class for it so its getting somewhere (slowly!!!). I can’t wait until I’m immersed in it! My writing and reading are too bad, and I’m comfortable speaking what little I know but listening is a problem so far.

        I definitely want to join clubs! My college life hasn’t been much of a college life at all because I work when ever I’m not in class and I live pretty far from my school. I’m looking forward to actually being able to join clubs and enjoy being a student–in another country!

  3. Bishop The Eastside Nappyhead October 23, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    hey i know exactly what you are talking about when you speak of culture shock and the whole break up thing, he has no idea what he is missing out on…….You seem like a very Jovial and beautiful young lady….I would like to get to know you further

    • jbrieo October 24, 2013 at 10:49 am #

      Thank you so much for your kind words. You seem very interesting from reading your blog and a person worth getting to know 🙂

  4. Bishop The Eastside Nappyhead October 29, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    how can i reach you through social networking

    • jbrieo October 29, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

      you can find me on facebook-Brieonna Johnson

Leave a Reply

