The lows of my Spain trip

20 May

So today I will talk about a few of my low points in Malaga, Spain. Now generally I don’t complain but I believe people love to talk about the positives and not the negatives in regards to study abroad. My list is of course based on my own personal experience in Malaga this far and doesn’t mean that I’m not having fun. After all, I did come here to improve my Spanish.

I don’t prefer the Spanish way of dining. For breakfast we get bread and marmalade, a gigantic lunch and maybe puréed soup or croquettes for dinner. I love the big lunches but those two pieces of toast followed by 3 hours of class don’t cut it. I have however, been surviving on chocolate and churros from Casa Aronda. Delicious!

The night life here is definitely not for me. Rock and pop are a big part of this culture and there isn’t too much diversity (music) on the club scene thus far. I love to dance to many different types of music but those two I simply cannot move to. I do love the laid back bar scene and free chupitos (shots).

The amount of tourist and people that speak English is pretty large. Generally, people tend to speak to me in Spanish but if I appear to even slightly struggle they switch to English. Plus I meet English tourist daily throughout the city. Luckily for me my host mom speaks only Spanish so I can practice with her in between commercials and during lunch.

The staring can definitely get old. Not a lot of Black people here so I understand their curiosity. It’s still awkward and uncomfortable. Not only do the Spanish people stare but the random Asian tour groups do too! My only recent travel was to the Dominican Republic and people looked like me so no problems. I suppose this is preparing for me a year abroad in Japan where I will be an ink spot on a piece of paper 😉.

That’s about it. I’m sure my experience will be different in each city I visit as I have yet to see all Spain has to offer! Madrid, Barcelona and Granada are all on the list. I leave you with a few pics
from my trip so far.

20130520-222016.jpg

20130520-222105.jpg

Leave a Reply

